Belton Tennis News

Mauldin Wins 22nd Hall of Fame Classic
in Belton October 4 - 5, 2008

2008 Hall of Fame Classic - Group PhotoMauldin won individual championships at #1 and #3 singles and captured the Hall of Fame Classic team championships with 28 points. Mauldin lost in the finals of both doubles flights, but had already earned enough team points to clinch the title. The tournament was one of the closest ever; J.L. Mann, who won 3 individual championships, was only 2 points behind with 26 and Lexington another point back with 25. Team standings were:

Team Photos
          J. L. Mann
          Hilton Head
          Bishop England
          A. C. Flora
          Belton-Honea Path

A. C. Flora was named the team sportsmanship award winner.

Mauldin - 2008 Team Champions

Team Champions

A. C. Flora - Team Sportsmanship

Team Sportsmanship Award
A. C. Flora

The results of the individual flight championship matches were:

(The person holding the trophy is the champion.)

#1 Singles - Ansley Speaks

#1 Singles:  Ansley Speaks (MAU) def. Taylor Patterson (LEX) 6-3, 6-4

#2 Singles - Clair Larkin

#2 Singles:  Clair Larkin (LEX) def. Megan Jones (MAU) 6-1, 6-2

#3 Singles - Haley Elliott

#3 Singles:  Haley Elliott (MAU) def. Alex Klein - not available for photo (WAN) 6-2, 6-3

#4 Singles - Abby Gregory

#4 Singles:  Abby Gregory (JLM) def. Annie Kondurus (LEX) 2-6, 6-2, 10-7

#5 Singles - Carley Chardukian

#5 Singles:  Carley Chardukian (JLM) def. Shannon McManus (BE) 6-1, 1-6, 10-2

#1 Doubles - Kelly Cameron/Brooke Ferry

#1 Doubles: Kelly Cameron/Brooke Ferry (HH) def. Megan Jones/Ansley Speaks (MAU) 6-3, 6-4

#2 Doubles - Emily Erickson/Grace Williams

#2 Doubles:  Emily Erickson/Grace Williams (JLM) def. Haley Behal/ Morgan Tracy (MAU) 6-4, 6-3

All Singles & Doubles Champions

All Singles & Doubles Champions



Belton-Honea Path struggled again to top competition, winning 2 matches and 3 points during the weekend. The results of B-HP players' matches were:

#1 Singles-Lauren Trumbull:
   1st round def. Sallie Johnson (BE) 6-3, 6-2
   2nd round lost Taylor Patterson (LEX) 6-3, 6-1
   3rd round lost Maria Hesketh (JLM) Default Injury
#2 Singles-Amanda Smith:
   1st round lost Olivia Self (JLM) 6-1, 6-2
   2nd round def. Kayla Heller (WAN) 7-5, 6-0
   3rd round lost Downing Herlocker (BE) 6-1, 6-0
#3 Singles-Nicole Shannon:
   1st round lost Logan Danzell (HH) 6-0, 6-3
   2nd round lost Hailey Weaver (BE) 6-3, 6-1
   3rd round lost Lindsay Gregory (JLM) 6-1, 6-1
#4 Singles-Anna Meeks:
   1st round lost Amanda Teague (ACF) 6-1, 6-3
   2nd round lost Madison Boals (BE) 6-2, 6-0
   3rd round lost Hayley Thompson (HH) 6-0, 6-1
#5 Singles-Michale Wilson:
   1st round lost Shannon McManus (BE) 6-0, 6-0
   2nd round lost Nicole Bauer (WAN) 6-2, 6-1
   3rd round lost Holli Selman (HH) 6-2, 6-2
#1 Doubles-Nicole Shannon and Amanda Smith:
   1st round lost Maria Hesket/Olivia Self (JLM) 6-1, 6-1
   2nd round lost Caroline deLoach/Lauren Teague (ACF) 6-2, 6-2
   3rd round lost Kayla Heller/Alex Klein (WAN) 3-6, 6-3, 10-3
#2 Doubles-Jolie Pitts and Lauren Vaughn:
   1st round lost Katie Hentz/Abby Thayer (BE) 6-0, 6-0
   2nd round lost Carey Mears/Anna Spons (ACF) 6-0, 6-0
   3rd round lost Courtney Lopresti/Caroline Hairfield (WAN) 6-0, 6-0

The tournament is sponsored by the Belton Tennis Association in honor of the South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame, which is located in the Belton Depot.



BTC NewsDirector of TennisContact Us Today Classifieds
News Admin Classifieds Admin BHP Admin