Belton Tennis News

Christ Church Wins 24th Hall of Fame Classic
in Belton September 25, 2010

2010 Hall of Fame Classic - Group PhotoChrist Church captured championships in 2 of 6 flights to win the 2010 Hall of Fame Classic high school girls tennis tournament played in Belton September 25, 2010. The tournament was originally scheduled for two days, but an accelerated format was used to finish in one day due to the rain forecasted for Sunday.

Christ Church won 18 of 24 matches to finish with 36 team points, 2 better than runner up Mauldin. Final team standings were:

Team Photos
          Christ Church
          J. L. Mann

Clinton was named the team sportsmanship winner.

Christ Church - 2010 Team Champions

Team Champions
Christ Church

Clinton - Team Sportsmanship

Team Sportsmanship Award

Christ Church, Mauldin and J. L. Mann each won 2 flight championships. Individual fight champions were:

#1 Singles - Olivia Lucas

#1 Singles:  Olivia Lucas of Christ Church was 4-0, including a 8-6 win over second place Emily Erickson of J. L. Mann who was 3-1.


#2 Singles - Lindsay Gregory

#2 Singles:  Lindsay Gregory of J. L. Mann was 4-0, including a 8-3 win over second place Elizabeth Hughes of Christ Church who was 3-1. Gregory was the chapion at #3 singles in last year's tournament.

#3 Singles - Abigail Gregory

#3 Singles:  Abigail Gregory of J. L. Mann and Sidney Patton of Mauldin both finished with a 3-1 record. Gregory was named the flight champion based on her 3-6, 7-6, 10-2 head-to-head match win over Patton.

#4 Singles - Molly Walsh

#4 Singles:  Molly Walsh of Mauldin was 4-0, including a 6-3, 7-6 win over second place Sally Nguyen of Irmo who was 3-1.

#5 Singles - Kirsten Hicks

#5 Singles:  Kirsten Hicks of Christ Church was 4-0, including a 7-5, 6-0 win over second place Jennifer Anderson of Irmo who was 3-1.

#2 Doubles - Hayley Behal/Alex Patton

#2 Doubles: Hayley Behal and Alex Patton of Mauldin were 4-0, including a 8-5 win over second place Christ Church (Emory Cannon and Mary Gage Coulder) who were 3-1. Behal won the championship at #2 doubles in last year's tournament.


All Singles & Doubles Champions

All Singles & Doubles Champions

The Hall of Fame Classic has been played in Belton since 1987. This was Christ Church's first team championship in 14 years of play in the tournament. J. L. Mann was the defending champion, and Mauldin won the tournament in 2008. The tournament attracts many of the top teams in the state each year and is presented by the Belton Tennis Association in honor of the South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame, which is located in the Belton Depot.



BTC NewsDirector of TennisContact Us Today Classifieds
News Admin Classifieds Admin BHP Admin