Belton Tennis News

T. L. Hanna Sweeps 27th Hall of Fame Classic
in Belton September 28 - 29, 2013

2013 Hall of Fame Classic - Group PhotoT. L. Hanna won every match to earn 42 team points and the 2013 Hall of Fame Classic Championship. The Yellow Jackets, coached by Rob Spencer, were the defending tournament champion, having won in 2012 with 32 team points. Their 21 match wins and 42 team points both set tournament records. The previous best was Myrtle Beach in 1990 when they won 19 of 21 matches and earned 39 team points.

The teams standings were:

Team Photos
          T. L. Hanna
          J. L. Mann
          Belton-Honea Path

Greenville was awarded the team sportsmanship award.

T. L. Hanna - 2013 Team Champion

Team Champions
T. L. Hanna

Greenville - 2013 Team Sportsmanship

Team Sportsmanship Award

The results of the championship matches were:

#1 Singles

#1 Singles:  Ivey Welborn (T. L. Hanna) defeated Christina Merchant (Greenville) 6-1, 7-5.

#2 Singles

#2 Singles:  Natalie Ivey (T. L. Hanna) defeated Abby Cooper (Irmo) 7-5, 6-2.

#3 Singles

#3 Singles:  Katie Loudermilk (T. L. Hanna) defeated Merritt Phillips (J. L. Mann) 6-0, 6-1.

#4 Singles

#4 Singles:  Corbin Dorsey (T. L. Hanna) defeated Maret Williamson (Greenville) 6-0, 6-0.

#5 Singles

#5 Singles:  Anna Rice (T. L. Hanna) defeated Elizabeth Collins (J. L. Mann) 4-6, 6-1, 10-6.


#1 Doubles

#1 Doubles: Natalie Ivey/Katie Loudermilk (T. L. Hanna) defeated Abby Cooper/Isabelle Cooper (Irmo) 6-3, 6-2.

#2 Doubles

#2 Doubles: Lauren Anderson/Claire Counts (T. L. Hanna) defeated Olivia Groce/Mary Francis McAlister (Greenville) 2-6, 6-1, 10,2.

J. L. Mann's Elizabeth Collins (#5 Singles)Ivey Welborn's title at #1 singles was her third straight. The only other player to win 3 #1 singles titles at the Hall of Fame Classic was Kelly Zalinski from Riverside in 1991, 1992 and 1993. Natalie Ivey won the #2 singles and #1 doubles titles for the second straight year and Katie Loudermilk defended her 2012 #3 singles championship.

Hall of Fame Classic TrophiesThe 2-day tournament, which was first played in 1987 and was recognized as the USTA Southern Team Event of the Year in 2012, is hosted by the Belton Tennis Association and sponsored by Chick-fil-A of Anderson. The 8-team field each year includes many of the top teams in the state. Maynard founded the tournament and continues to serve as the tournament chairman and is assisted by Tournament Referee Maxine LeCroy and Tournament Director Mark Smith.

Irmo's Abby and Isabelle Cooper congratulate T. L. Hanna's Natalie Ivey and Katie LoudermilkMaynard had this to say about T. L. Hanna and the 2013 tournament: "T. L. Hanna is strong from top to bottom. They look good, and we'll watch them closely when the playoffs begin. If they're healthy, they will match up well against any team in the state. Even though Greenville finished a distant second, they are only a AAA school and I expect they will do well in the playoffs this year too. We've had some dominant teams in the Hall of Fame Classic before, but never a team that won every match they played like T. L. Hanna did this year. That's quite a feat as the competition here is as strong as any tournament in the state other than the last two rounds of the state championships. Coach Spencer does a great job coaching and motivating his team. We had perfect weather for this year's tournament, and all the girls played hard and played well. We appreciate everyone's support and are proud to be able to continue this great girls high school tennis tradition in Belton!"


BTC NewsDirector of TennisContact Us Today Classifieds
News Admin Classifieds Admin BHP Admin