Belton Tennis News

AC Flora Wins 32nd Hall of Fame Classic Tennis in Belton September 29-30, 2018

2018 Hall of Fame Classic - Group PhotoAC Flora of Columbia won 4 flights and finished second in 2 others to earn 31 points and edge out TL Hanna of Anderson and capture their first Chick-fil-A Hall of Fame Classic played in Belton September 29-30. T L Hanna won 1 flight and finished second in 4 flights to score 27 points and second place. Elise Mills of Mid-Carolina was part of 2 flight championships (#1 singles and doubles) to score 12 of Mid-Carolina's 18 points, good for fourth place. J L Mann captured one flight championship and finished third with 22 points.

Final team standings were:

Team Photos
     1.  AC Flora
     2.  TL Hanna
     3.  JL Mann
     4.  Mid-Carolina
     5.  Boiling Springs
     6.  Belton-Honea Path
     7. Daniel
     8. Clinton

Clinton was named the team sportsmanship winner.

The results of the individual championship matches were:

  • #1 Singles: Elise Mills (MC) def. Kristen Reynolds (TLH) 6-1, 6-1
  • #2 Singles: Meagan Pleasant (ACF) def. Addie Anderson (TLH) 6-1, 6-2
  • #3 Singles: Elise Sandlin (ACF) def. Ashlen Chapman (TLH) 6-4, 6-4
  • #4 Singles: Jillian Spencer (TLH) def. Frances Smith (ACF) 6-1, 6-0
  • #5 Singles: Hanna Ellis (JLM) def. Breland Gann (ACF) 6-4, 6-2
  • #2 Doubles: Caroline Coble & Siona Sturgeon (ACF) def. Cassidy Carlson & Beate Park (JLM) 7-5, 3-6, 10-5
  • #1 Doubles: Caroline Matney & Elise Mills (MC) def. Addie Anderson & Kristen Reynolds (TLH) 7-5, 6-1

Belton-Honea Path won 5 matches during the weekend against top competition. Winning matches for the Bears were Kenyetta Anderson, Jessica Callaham, Olivia Dixon, Meghan Lollis and the doubles team of Louise Blake and Maggie LeCroy. The results of BHP matches were:

  • #1 Singles-Baylee Kelly-Beal-Lost Kristen Reynolds (TLH) 6-0, 6-0, Lost to Chandler Dailey 6-1, 4-1 w/d injury, Lost to Margaret Wang (DA) default injury
  • #2 Singles-Kenyetta Anderson-Lost Addie Anderson (TLH) 6-0, 6-0. Def. Kathryn Ross (DA) 7-6, 2-6, 10-6, lost Gerri Hill (CL) 7-6, 0-6, 14-12
  • #3 Singles-Jessica Callaham-Lost Caroline Mitchell (JLM) 6-0, 6-2, Lost Sarah Seymour (DA) 6-4, 6-2, Def. Gracie Spangler (CL) 6-2, 6-1
  • #4 Singles-Olivia Dixon-Def. Claire Blackwell (DA) 6-3, 6-4, lost Jillian Spencer (TLH) 6-0, 6-0, unable to play final round due to personal conflict and replaced by Ellison Pruitt who lost Eleanor Kneeland (JLM) 6-0, 6-0
  • #5 Singles-Meghan Lollis-Lost Reese Gowan (CL) 6-0, 6-0, Lost Addy Ashmore (MC) 2-6, 6-4, 10-7, Def. Trinity Hamic (DA) 7-6, 5-7, 10-8
  • #1 Doubles-Kenyetta Anderson & Jessica Callaham-Lost Raquel Acco & Meagan Pleasant (ACF) 6-0, 6-0, Lost to Kathryn Ross & Margaret Wang (DA) by default, lost Mary Catherine Dailey and Gracie Spangler (CL) 6-3, 6-4
  • #2 Doubles-Louise Blake & Maggie LeCroy-Def. Grace Johnson & Gracie Wiggins (CL) 6-0, 6-1, lost Cassidy Carlson & Beate Park (JLM) 6-4, 6-0, Lost Ally Jones & Advika Velen (TLH) 7-5, 6-1

Tournament Director Rex Maynard said: "We had a great two days of tennis with close competition and great weather. We had close matches throughout the weekend, and no one team dominated. AC Flora made the finals n 5 of the 7 flights and that was enough to carry them to the team win. The team champion wasn't determined until the last round of the day. The girls, coaches and parents were all great and helped make it a lot of fun, and we had many of the state's top high school players competing. We expect each of these teams to advance to the state playoffs starting in a few weeks, and we expect they will do well. The Hall of Fame Classic is one of our four major tennis events held in Belton each year, and we're proud to host this event! The Hall of Fame Classic is hosted annually by the Belton Tennis Association and sponsored by Chick-fil-A of Anderson. Maxine LeCroy, who has volunteered for the tournament all 32 years, served as the Tournament Referee."


Christ Church - 2014 Team Champion

Team Champions Award
AC Flora

Christ Church - 2014 Team Champion

Team Sportsmanship Award

The results of the individual championship matches were:

#1 Singles

#1 Singles:  Elise Mills (Mid-Caroline) def. Kristen Reynolds (TL Hanna) 6-1, 6-1.

#2 Singles

#2 Singles: Megan Pleasant (AC Flora) def. Addie Anderson (TL Hanna) 6-1, 6,2.

#3 Singles

#3 Singles: Elise Sandlin (AC Flora) def. Ashlen Chapman (TL Hanna) 6-4, 6-4.

#4 Singles

#4 Singles: Jillian Spencer (TL Hanna) def. Frances Smith (AC Flora) 6-1, 6-0.

#5 Singles

#5 Singles: Hanna Ellis (JL Mann) def. Breland Gann (AC Flora) 6-4, 6-2.

#1 Doubles

#1 Doubles: Lauren Allen & Day Nuckolls (Christ Church) defeated Leyton Powell & Julia Price (Greenville) 8-4.

#1 Doubles

#2 Doubles: Paula Pieper & Abby Riddle (Christ Church) defeated Kate Keller & Sophie Young (Greenville) 6-1, 6-0.

#2 Doubles

Tournament Staff (L to R):
Chuck Waldron, Maxine LeCroy and Rex Maynard.




BTC NewsDirector of TennisContact Us Today Classifieds
News Admin Classifieds Admin BHP Admin