Belton Tennis News

S. C. Men's Collegiate Championships
October 5-7, 2018

LanderThe 2018 South Carolina Men's Collegiate Tennis Championships were played for the fifth year in Belton October 5-7. Furman's Ivan Mitric lead the way capturing the singles title and partnering with James Roelofse to win the doubles championship.

The Championship Singles and Championship Doubles determined the state champions. The results of the championship matches in each flight were:

S. C. Men's Singles Collegiate Champion:  Ivan Mitric (Furman) defeated Erik Groner (Lander) 6-0, 4-6, 6-4.

Championship Singles

S.C. Men's Collegiate Doubles Champions:  Mitric/Roelofse (Furman) defeated Jake Beasley/Beau Pelletier (South Carolina) by default due to heat illness. Championship Doubles
The usual heat caused some problems for players during the weekend with a number of defaults due to heat illness, cramps and injuries, including the doubles championship match. Championships were also determined in four other singles flights and 2 other double flights. Players from Lander University won 4 of the other 6 flights:
Russell Singles Flight:  Aditya Gokhale (Winthrop) defeated Jose Navarro (Newberry) 1-6, 6-4, 6-4. Russell Singles
Kriese Singles Flight:  Thomas De Negri (Lander) defeated Jusus Lehmann (Coker) 6-2, 6-7 (8), 6-0. Kriese Singles
Cabri Singles Flight:  Phillippe Courteau (Lander) defeated Hunter Benefield (Winthrop) 6-2, 6-4. Cabri Singles
Scarpa Singles Flight:  Liam Roos (Lander) defeated Austin Green (Anderson University) 6-1, 6-3. Scarpa Singles
Demars Doubles Flight:  Gabriel Balestero/Axel Cronje (Lander) defeated Hunter Horton/Issac MacMillan (Coker) 8-3. Demars Doubles
Varn Doubles Flight:  Austin Green/Junior Duarte (Anderson University) defeated Francisco Tico/Robin Van der Heijden (N. Greenville) 8-1. Photo???? Varn Doubles
Jim Russell Memorial Sportsmanship AwardThe Big Jim Russell Memorial Sportsmanship Award was presented to Kaegan Harrison from N. Greenville.

SC Men's Singles Collegiant Champion74 players from 12 state colleges and universities, including Clemson, South Carolina, Furman, Wofford, PC, Winthrop, Lander, Anderson University, Coker, Limestone, North Greenville and Newberry, played in the tournament. The tournament is played in memory of Jim Russell, a long time local tennis volunteer and one of the top college tennis officials in the country. The various flights are named in honor of Russell and other college coaches who have been inducted into the South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame. The tournament is sponsored by the Belton Tennis Association. Belton's Maxine LeCroy served as the Tournament Referee.



BTC NewsDirector of TennisContact Us Today Classifieds
News Admin Classifieds Admin BHP Admin