Belton Tennis

Palmetto Championships has Record Entries
in Belton May 23 - 28, 2014

Palmetto 2014 18U WinnersThe 58th Palmetto Championships presented by Chick-fil-A of Anderson ended Saturday with 8- and-under matches played at the Belton Tennis Center. A record 457 players entered this year's tournament. Play began on Friday, May 23 and continued through the finals on Tuesday morning, May 28 followed by the 8-and-under tournament Saturday. Matches were played on 56 courts throughout Anderson County.

Palmetto 2014 JudgesTournament Director Red Maynard stated the large number of entries provided both a challenge and an opportunity to the tournament. "We used every hard court I know about in Anderson County....55 of them at 11 different sites....and we needed them to get all the matches played. Thank goodness for great weather. We had thunderstorms late Sunday afternoon, but we were far enough along in the day that it didn't cost us many matches and we caught up early on Monday. The main part of the tournament finished on schedule with singles finals Tuesday morning followed by 5 doubles finals. When you're as spread out as we are it's a real challenge, but I have to credit our staff and officials for again doing a wonderful job. There will always be some problems and issues when you have this many players Action Photoand matches, but we held them to a minimum and handled them as best we could. The players, parents and coaches were all great in helping us make it work. Chick-fil-A was great as always. They were on site constantly welcoming the players, giving away lemonade and cookies and helping with special events. We especially enjoyed having The Cow with us many times. He's a true legend! Having such a large turnout provided us a great opportunity to showcase our tournament and our area. We're especially proud of the new tennis courts at Leda Poore Park, and we received many compliments what we did there."

Action PhotoOnly a few local players participated in this year's tournament. Marissa Trumbull entered the Girl's 18-and-under, but was unable to play as she was a Marshall at B-HP's graduation on Saturday morning which conflicted with her first match time. Ethan Smith played in the 10-and-under and Maggie LeCroy and Boyd Maynard participated in the 8-and-under.

The results of the singles championship matches were:

  • Boys 18U: Wood Benton (Spartanburg) def. Alec Miller (Rock Hill) 6 - 3, 6,4
  • Boys 16U: Oliver Crawford (Spartanburg) def. Jeffrey Dayton (Murrell's Inlet) 6 - 1, 6 - 2
  • Boys 14U: Brant Fenno (Mount Pleasant) def. Coy Simon (Charleston) 6 - 4, 6 - 3
  • Boys 12U: Ashe Ray (Spartanburg) def. Luke Prendergast (Mount Pleasant) 3 - 6, 6 - 2, 6 - 4
  • Boys 10U: Rivers Cahill (Conway) def. Andrew Rundle (Simpsonville) 4 -1, 4 - 2
  • Boys 8U: Davis Breci (Greenville) def. Tanner Black (Landrum) 7 - 3, 7 - 6
  • Girls 18U: Jade Lewis (Hilton Head) def. Carolina Lewis (Hilton Head) 7 - 6, 6 - 2
  • Girls 16U: Lauren Joch (Irmo) def. AnnMartin Skelly (Charleston) 6 - 1, 6 - 1
  • Girls 14U: Maggie Cubitt (Spartanburg) def. Elise Mills (Prosperity) 6 - 2, 6 - 2
  • Girls 12U: Sara McClure (Bluffton) def. Mary Grace Armistead (Hilton Head) 2 - 6, 7 - 5, 6 - 4
  • Girls 10U: Michaela Hegarty (Bluffton) def. Emily Ruckno (Hilton Head) 4 - 1, 4 - 1
  • Girls 8U: Kamryn Southall (Inman) def. Naija Patel (Easley) 7 - 6, 7 - 4.

Cubitt won her second straight singles title after winning the Girl's 12U in 2013. Fenno was a third time singles winner; he won the Boy's 10U in 2010 and 12U in 2012. All the other champions were first time winners.

The results of the doubles championship matches were:

  • Boys 18U: Kyle Barr (Myrtle Beach) & Matthew Mendez (Hilton Head) def. Wood Benton (Spartanburg) & Adam Elliget (Summerville) 9 - 7
  • Boys 16U: Mark Carnes (Sumter) & Jeffrey Dayton (Murrells Inlet) def. Mark Militzer (Mount Pleasant) & Jerry Price (West Columbia) 8 - 4
  • Boys 14U: Phillip Jordan (Spartanburg) & Chad Nash (Daniel Island) def. Bryce Keim (Spartanburg) & Coy Simon (Charleston) 8 - 4
  • Boys 12U: Luke Prendergast (Mount Pleasant) & Ashe Ray (Spartanburg) def. Jackson Armistead (Hilton Head Island) & Christopher Johns (Simpsonville) 8 - 2
  • Boys 10U: Rivers Cahill (Conway) & Harrison Luba (Hilton Head Island) def. Hampton Cope (Lexington) & Sawyer Severance (Charleston) 6 - 3
  • Girls 18U: Carolina Lewis (Hilton Head Island) & Jade Lewis (Hilton Head Island) def. Sydney Patton (Simpsonville) & Samantha Schuster (Charleston) 8 - 3
  • Girls 16U: Ellie Czura (Bluffton) & Elizabeth Williams (Hilton Head Island) def. Samantha Calais (Irmo) & Mary Katherine Dickson (Chapin) 8 - 1
  • Girls 14U: Maggie Cubitt (Spartanburg) & Elise Mills (Prosperity) def. Katherine Lyman (Mt. Pleasant) & Victoria Votion (Lexington) 8 - 1
  • Girls 12U: Robin Alston (Myrtle Beach) & Anna Greer (Chesnee) def. Mary Grace Armistead (Hilton Head Island) & Sara McClure (Bluffton) 9 - 8
  • Girls 10U: Michaela Hegarty (Bluffton) & Emily Ruckno (Hilton Head) def. Karsyn Misenheimer (Columbia) & Hannah Myers (Columbia) 6 - 3

Four sportsmanship awards were presented. Anna Bell Kleinfelt of Clemson received the Kimberly Hampton Memorial Sportsmanship Award, Robbie Young of Greenville the Matthew Strange Memorial Sportsmanship Award, Jonathan Edwards of Isle of Palms the Malloy Evans Memorial Sportsmanship Award and Drew Sharpe from Greenville the 8U Sportsmanship Award.

During the Palmetto Fling on Saturday night, former USTA South Carolina President Al Marshall received the tournament's Honorary Chariman Award. Marshall has been working at the Palmetto the past 19 years, and stepped in as the Tournament Referee after Jim Russell's death in 2012. The City of Belton also named the newly reconstructed tennis courts at Leda Poore Park the Timken Foundation Courts. Timken provided a $100,000 grant to help fund the project, which cost $250,000. Former junior player and current Miss South Carolina, Brooke Mosteller, was in attendance and made remarks about the difference tennis made in her life.

The players who did well in the Palmetto will advance on to the 9-state Southern Championships to be held June 8-15 in various locations throughout the south.

Photos of 2014 PC Award Winners:
Singles Champions (All Ages)
Sportsmanship Award Winners
Doubles Champions (All Ages)
Block Party & Dunlop Scholarship
Palmetto Fling

More 2014 PC Tournament Information:

Draws & Competition Results


BTC NewsDirector of TennisContact Us Today Classifieds
News Admin Classifieds Admin BHP Admin