Belton Tennis

60th Palmetto Championships Set New Records
May 27 - 31, 2016 (...Continued Article)

Raye, Brown and Joch are all repeat singles winners. Brown won his 7th singles title, and first since 2013. He captured 6 straight titles in the 10U, 12U & 14U between 2008 and 2013. Raye won his 2nd singles title (after winning the 12U in 2014) and Joch won her 3rd straight singles title (after winning the 16U in 2014 & 2015.

The results of the championship doubles matches were:

  • 10U Boys - Logan Tomovski (Murrells Inlet) & Trevor Novotny (1) (Pawley's Island) def. Addison Gordon (Myrtle Beach) & David Raynor (2) (Myrtle Beach) 7-6
  • 12U Boys - Lucas Acevedo (Daniel Island) & Jacob Smith (4) (Daniel Island) def. Ian Rasheed (Mt. Pleasant) & Otto Sewell (3) (Mt. Pleasant) 8-5
  • 14U Boys - James Qu (Greer) & Stanley Waters (2) (Mt. Pleasant) def. Conrad Alford (Hilton Head Island) & Grant Durham (Hilton Head Island) 9-7
  • 16U Boys - Luke McClelland (Rock Hill) & Chad Nash (2) (Daniel Island) def. Kerim Hyatt (Daniel Island) & Reilly Wilson (3) (Daniel Island) 8-3
  • 18U Boys - Jeffrey Dayton (Murrells Inlet) & Elijah Elie (1) (Greer) def. Gavin Stewart (Simpsonville) & Andrew Wetzel (Simpsonville) 8-5
  • 10UGirls - Taylor Kingsley (Camden) & Sidney Mitchell (1) (Greenville) def. Laurel Case (Myrtle Beach) & Mia El-Kheddiwi (2) (Myrtle Beach) 6-4
  • 12U Girls - Mattie Grace Dermody (Mt. Pleasant) & Gigi Hinson (1) (Charleston) def. Saige Severance (Daniel Island) & Sydney Severance (2) (Daniel Island) 8-5
  • 14U Girls - Samantha Johns (Simpsonville) & Sayda Hernandez (2) (Hilton Head) def. Robin Alston (Rock Hill) & Allie Gretkowski (1) (Mt. Pleasant) 9-7
  • 16U Girls - Katherine Lyman (Mt. Pleasant) & Lauren Quinn (1) (Charleston) def. Anna Letto (Hilton Head Island) & Nicole Sister (2) (Hilton Head Island) 8-3
  • 18U Girls - Samanta Calais (Irmo) & Madalina Man (2) (Lexington) def. Lauren Joch (Irmo) & Jenna Vroman (1) (Daniel Island) 0-6, 7-5, 1-0

Three sportsmanship awards were presented:

  • Kimberly Hampton Memorial Sportsmanship Award: Annie Jennings (Greenville)
  • Dunlop Scholarship - Jeffrey DaytonMatthew Strange Memorial Sportsmanship Award: Ian Rasheed (Mt. Pleasant)
  • Malloy Evans Memorial Sportsmanship Award: Omar Williams (Spartanburg)

The Dunlop Scholarship was presented to Jeffrey Dayton of Murrells's Inlet, a top student at St. James High School where he was a member of the National Honor Society and played #1 singles and doubles on his tennis team all 6 years. Dayton won 4 doubles titles during his Palmetto career, the 12U in 2010, the 16U in 2014 and the 18U in 2015 and 2016. He finished 4th in 18U singles this year. Jeffrey will attend Anderson University this fall.

OfficialTournament Director Rex Maynard said: "We appreciate the players, parents and coaches; this tournament wouldn't be possible without them. The number of entries presented a challenge with courts, but everyone worked together to get it done. The new Anderson University tennis complex was a major help! Saturday was a long day with almost 400 matches played, then Monday we doubled up after the Sunday rain delay and played another 400. Our staff and officials were great, and there were very few problems during the tournament. We saw some great tennis and competitive matches. A special thanks to Jon Holmes and Chick-fil-A of Anderson for all theirsupport as well as all the tournament sponsors. It was another great year, and we look Palmetto 2016 Officials & Staffforward to hosting the tournament many more years in Belton."

Maynard was assisted by Referee Kelly Hesketh and Co-tournament Director Mark Smith plus over 25 officials and 20 volunteers. The tournament is hosted by the Belton Tennis Association and sanctioned by the United States Tennis Association.


Photos of 2016 PC Award Winners:
Singles Champions (All Ages)
Sportsmanship Award Winners
Doubles Champions (All Ages)
Palmetto Fling

More 2016 PC Tournament Information:

Draws & Competition Results


BTC NewsDirector of TennisContact Us Today Classifieds
News Admin Classifieds Admin BHP Admin